Historic downtown Colville, our latest Washington Main Street Community.

We’re pleased to announce that the Washington State Main Street Program is growing!

Starting in 2020, Colville will officially be designated a Washington Main Street Community. Colville is a town of just under 5,000 residents in Stevens County, in the northeast corner of our state. Their Main Street program, Colville Together, is focused on enriching their community through planning and preserving historic downtown Colville, while cultivating their local economy. We are delighted by the opportunity to work with Colville more closely as a designated Community! Their addition to our ranks brings the Washington State Main Street Program to 34 Communities.

Also joining our network in 2020 are our new Affiliates: Burien, Ferndale, and LaCrosse. Affiliates are towns and organizations exploring how the Main Street Approach can serve as the guide in meeting their revitalization goals. Burien is a town of about 50,000 located in King County, represented in our Main Street network by the organization Discover Burien. Ferndale, located in Whatcom County with a population of 14,000, is represented by the Ferndale Downtown Association. LaCrosse, located in Whitman County and encompassing 325 residents, is represented by LaCrosse Community Pride. Their additions bring our number of Affiliates to 31.

Using local resources and initiative, the Washington State Main Street Program helps communities develop their own strategies to stimulate long-term economic growth and civic pride. We provide access to information, help getting focused, and community support and guidance to individuals and organizations interested in downtown revitalization. To learn more about the Washington State Main Street Program, visit preservewa.org/mainstreet.

Downtown Burien. Photo source: City of Burien.

A street festival in downtown Ferndale. Photo source: Ferndale Downtown Association.

Downtown LaCrosse.